07
2026
-
09
IEC 61643-11:2025 for SPD Buyers: What to Check Before Approving an AC Surge Protector
A buyer's guide to IEC 61643-11:2025 and IEC 61643-01:2024: how the 2025 restructure works, and what to verify in an AC SPD test report before approving a model.
1. Why the 2025 edition matters to a buyer
When a supplier lists "IEC 61643-11" on a quotation, the edition is the part most buyers miss. The standard was restructured in 2024–2025, and the AC requirements a purchaser once found in a single 2011 document are now split across two publications. A quotation that cites only the old number, or that does not state the edition and the test report behind it, gives the buyer less to verify than it first appears.
For procurement, the practical question is simple: does the offered AC surge protector have a surge protector test report that names the exact model and the exact edition it was tested against? Everything else in this article flows from that question.

2. The restructure: IEC 61643-11:2025 and IEC 61643-01:2024
The change is structural. IEC 61643-01:2024 now contains the general requirements and test methods that apply to all SPDs, across all application parts. IEC 61643-11:2025 then contains the requirements specific to AC low-voltage power systems. Together, the two documents cancel and replace the first edition of IEC 61643-11 published in 2011.
In buyer terms, this means a 2025-era SPD standard citation normally names both documents — or at least states the edition clearly — rather than pointing to one all-in-one part. A test report prepared under the current scheme should therefore identify the part, the edition, and the laboratory that performed the testing.

3. What a standard does — and does not — prove
This is the single most important distinction for a buyer. A standard defines test methods, performance requirements and ratings. It is not, by itself, a certificate that any particular model has passed those tests. A manufacturer can state that a product line is "designed to" a standard; that is a claim, not evidence.
A standard's scope is not model certification. Saying a product "conforms to IEC 61643-11" is only meaningful when it is backed by a named test report for the specific model. No specific model is claimed here as certified.
When reviewing an offer, the buyer should look for a test report that names the model, the standard and edition, and the issuing laboratory. A generic statement on a datasheet does not replace that document.
A further distinction is useful here: the datasheet, the test report and the unit marking are three separate sources, and a buyer should expect them to agree. A datasheet states intended ratings; a test report records measured values; the marking on the device is what the installer has in front of them. If the three do not line up, that inconsistency is itself a signal to pause before approval.
4. What to look for in a test report
A useful AC SPD testing report lets a buyer answer several questions without opening the standard itself:
- Model and edition. Does the report name the exact model on the quotation, and the edition tested (for example IEC 61643-11:2025, read with IEC 61643-01:2024)?
- Rated values. Are Uc (maximum continuous operating voltage), In / Imax (nominal and maximum discharge current) and Up (voltage protection level) stated, and do they match the datasheet?
- Type and class. Is the SPD classified as Type 1, Type 2 (or the applicable test class) in a way that fits the intended installation point?
- Laboratory. Is the testing laboratory named, and is the report traceable to that body?
- Scope match. Does the report cover the full device as supplied, or only part of it — a single mode of protection, or an assembly?
Two values deserve particular attention because they are easy to misread. Uc is the maximum continuous operating voltage the device can withstand in normal service, and it should sit above the highest continuous voltage the installation actually reaches — not merely the nominal mains value. Related to this is the temporary overvoltage (TOV) behaviour, which describes how the SPD responds to short-duration voltage rises that are not lightning-related. Both are installation-specific, so a model that is correct at one site may not be correct at another with a different supply or earthing arrangement.
The Type (or test class) tells the buyer where the device is intended to be used. Type 1 devices are generally associated with locations exposed to more severe effects, such as the service entrance, while Type 2 devices are more commonly applied downstream. The distinction is not a matter of one being "better" than the other; it is about matching the device to the exposure and position in the installation.
The edition matters because some clauses have moved. A report prepared under the pre-2025 scheme may still be valid, but the buyer should understand which edition it references and whether the current requirements differ for the values being compared.

5. Procurement review table
| Check item | What to verify | Where it appears |
|---|---|---|
| Standard & edition | IEC 61643-11:2025 (with IEC 61643-01:2024) or the edition actually used | Test report, datasheet |
| Model identity | Reported model matches the quoted model exactly | Test report vs quotation |
| Rated Uc | Maximum continuous operating voltage above the site's highest continuous voltage | Report, datasheet, marking |
| Discharge current | In / Imax consistent with the installation exposure and position | Report, datasheet |
| Voltage protection level Up | Stated and consistent with downstream equipment withstand | Report, datasheet |
| Type / test class | Type 1 / Type 2 (or class) appropriate to the location | Report, datasheet |
| Laboratory | Named laboratory, report traceable to that body | Report header / signature |
| Scope of testing | Full SPD, a mode of protection, or an assembly — and whether it matches what is supplied | Report scope section |
6. Traceability: standard → report → model
The buyer's approval chain is three links: the standard edition cited, the test report that applies it, and the physical model that the report names. If any link is missing or inconsistent, the claim is weaker than it appears. The diagram below shows the chain in the order a buyer should walk through it.
A "family" or "series" report — one document covering a range of models — can be acceptable when it clearly lists each covered model and its ratings, but it should not be assumed to cover a model that is not named in it. The safest request is still a report that names the model on the quotation.

7. Technical changes to be aware of
Several technical changes distinguish the current documents from the 2011 text. A buyer does not need to memorise clauses, but knowing that these areas changed helps when asking the supplier for evidence:
- Clarification of whether a test applies to a complete SPD, to a single mode of protection, or to a complete SPD assembly.
- Measurement of the voltage protection level on combined modes of protection between live conductors and PE.
- An additional duty test for Type 1 and Type 2 SPDs with follow current, checking behaviour at lower impulse currents.
- Amended short-circuit current tests and dielectric tests, including for electrically separated circuits.
These points are taken from the official IEC publication summaries and are described here at a high level only. For the full text, the standards themselves are the reference.
Buyers may also encounter a transition period. When an edition is replaced, products tested to the previous edition can continue to appear on the market for some time, and national implementation of a new edition is often phased. This is another reason to ask for the edition actually tested: it clarifies whether a report reflects the current scheme or an earlier one, and lets the technical team judge whether that matters for the project.
8. Questions to put to the supplier
A short, direct set of questions usually resolves most ambiguity in an RFQ:
- Which standard and edition was this model tested against?
- Can you provide the test report for this specific model, not a family or series?
- Which laboratory issued the report, and can the report be verified with that body?
- Do the reported Uc, In, Imax and Up match the datasheet and the unit marking?
- Does the report cover the full device as it will be supplied?
- Do the reported values reflect the full device, a single mode of protection, or an assembly — and which one matches what is being purchased?
9. Getting the technical / certificate team to review
Procurement does not need to perform the technical judgement alone. The normal practice is to pass the test report, the datasheet and the single-line diagram to the technical or certificate department for review against the actual installation. The buyer's role is to make sure the right documents exist and line up; the technical team then confirms whether the rated values and type fit the site.
In practice the review is iterative: the technical team may ask for a specific value — for example the voltage protection level at a particular test waveform — and the buyer relays that to the supplier. Keeping the test report, the datasheet and the single-line diagram together in one place speeds this up and reduces the chance that a value is taken from the wrong document. If the documents are missing or do not line up, contact us and the request can be forwarded for a model-specific response.
10. FAQ
Does citing IEC 61643-11 mean a model is certified?
No. A standard defines requirements and tests; it is not model certification. Certification is supported by a test report that names the specific model, the edition and the laboratory.
What is the relationship between IEC 61643-11:2025 and IEC 61643-01:2024?
IEC 61643-01:2024 holds the general requirements common to all SPDs, while IEC 61643-11:2025 holds the AC-specific requirements. Together they replace the 2011 first edition of IEC 61643-11.
What should I check first on a test report?
The model identity and the standard edition. If the report does not name the exact model quoted, or does not state the edition tested, the remaining values are hard to verify against the offer.
Which rated values matter for an AC SPD?
Uc (maximum continuous operating voltage), In / Imax (discharge current) and Up (voltage protection level), plus the Type or test class. Each should be consistent across the report, the datasheet and the unit marking.
Does the 2025 edition make older reports invalid?
Not automatically. A report prepared under an earlier edition may still be valid for its stated scope, but the buyer should confirm which edition it references and whether the values being compared are affected by the restructure.
Who should confirm the technical fit?
The technical or certificate department normally reviews the report, datasheet and single-line diagram against the installation. Procurement's role is to ensure the right documents exist and align.
RELATED NEWS
Shandong Cresin Electric Co., Ltd. Privacy Policy
Contact Us
Address: No. 978 Tianchen Road, High-tech Zone, Jinan, Shandong,China
CAN’T FIND THE PRODUCT?
The product range includes production technologies for smart capacitors, digital display meters, surge protectors, dedicated backup protection devices for surge protectors, self-resetting over/under-voltage protectors, control and protection switches, and automatic transfer switches for dual power supplies.
Search HistoryClear All Records
- 全部
- 产品管理
- 新闻资讯
- 介绍内容
- 企业网点
- 常见问题
- 企业视频